Scott Kelby NAPP Founder

Posted: June 26, 2010 in NAPP
Tags: , ,
Devil Dog

Devil Dog

High Contrast Process Learned from Scott Kelby

After I posted to my blog on Friday, I realized that I did a great disservice to Scott Kelby.  He should have been first and everyone and everything else later.  It is hard to know where to start with what I have learned from Mr. Kelby in one way or another.  So I’ll start at the day I went to my first NAPP One-Day Seminar in Arlington, Texas hosted by Ben Willmore.  This was in December, 2006.  Of course that particular day I had no idea that Scott Kelby even existed, but I knew by the way that seminar was structured that I had to join NAPP that day.  I have never looked back.  Photography, or simply taking pictures, has been something that I have liked to do for quite some number of years.  However, I never had any formal training at all.  I had taken a Photoshop class at OCCC, my employer, during the fall semester of 2006 so I could learn how to make some of the photos that I have taken look a little better. 

The NAPP member website that I had access to after I joined on that fateful December day is amazing.  They have at least four new tutorials posted their every week and the old tutorials are available to members with a simple click of the mouse.  One thing about all of the tutorials that really helped me was the way that they all tell how to do the steps whether you are using a PC or a Mac.  Most of them use Macs, but I use a PC so this is extremely helpful to me.  They usually mention that it’s not that you will match the tutorial, but the steps involved are the important part.  I have heard time and time again that mistakes are not bad if you learn something from them, and that one should continually experiment.  I feel that these extremely user friendly tutorials are made in a customer service oriented company that is due to a culture induced by Scott Kelby.  

I went to my first PhotoshopWorld in Las Vegas in September 2007.  I met Scott for the first time then.  Even though I felt like a star-struck fan of a rock star when I introduced myself, Scott reached out and shook my hand as if he had known me all my life.  Scott Kelby is an extremely kind individual who wants to pass his knowledge to anyone willing to listen and learn.  He not only teaches how to be a better photographer or Photoshop user, but his teaching style mixed with intense humor is contagious.  In fact, I have used his teaching techniques in every class I teach.  If I can teach my students and give them a good laugh along the way, I have succeeded.

I will add more to the story of Scott Kelby on the next blog post tomorrow.

Comments
  1. Ken Toney says:

    Mike, cool website! I need to watch RC’s wordpress tutorials so I can replace my Blogger site. I went to Clemson so right about now I am ticked off. Its in the 8th and we are down 4-2. Carolina did this to us in 02 and I hope we can come back. Talk at ya soon.

Leave a Reply

